Research news
University news

University of Jyväskylä to award 9 honorary doctorates

The University of Jyväskylä will award 9 new honorary doctorates in May. The tenth Conferment of Degrees Ceremony for the whole University and the conferment procession will be held on Saturday, 25 May 2019. In addition, related festivities will be arranged throughout the weekend.

 The faculties of the University award honorary doctorates to persons with meritorious work for the benefit of society or science. A great number of masters and doctors are also expected to participate in the conferment ceremony.

– With honorary doctorates, the University honours the recipients for their significant work for the University and society. I am very delighted that the faculties have nominated such a prominent group of persons who are important to our University, says Rector Keijo Hämäläinen.

The University will award honorary doctorates to the following distinguished persons:

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Professor Donatella Della Porta
  • Professor Scott Jarvis

Jyväskylä School of Business and Economics

  • Professor, dean Philip Vergauwen 

Faculty of Education and Psychology

  • Professor Kenneth Pugh
  • Director General Olli-Pekka Heinonen 

Faculty of Sport and Health Sciences

  • Professor Jaakko Kaprio
  • MinisterLauri Tarasti

Faculty of Mathematics and Science

  • Academician Risto Nieminen
  • Professor Peter Butler

Further information:

Coordinator of the Conferment Ceremony 2019 Vesa Holm, 040 805 4159,

Honorary doctorates 2019: