University of Jyväskylä

Professor Mika Ojakangas elected as the chair of the University Collegium

The University Collegium of the University of Jyväskylä had its first meeting today, on 30 January 2018. Professor of Political Science Mika Ojakangas from the group of professors was elected as the chair of the University Collegium. Senior Researcher Elina Sillanpää from the group of teaching and research staff and other staff was elected as the first vice chair and student Ira Vainikainen from the group of students as the second vice chair.

The special field of Professor Ojakangas is research in political thought, rhetoric and culture. He has worked as a professor of the University of Jyväskylä since 2010. Ojakangas is the head of the Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy at the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences.

The University Collegium includes 30 members who all have personal deputies. Of the members, 10 represent the professors, 10 the teaching and research staff and other staff, and 10 the students.

The University Collegium decides on, for example, the number of the University Board members and the term of office of the Board and its members. It also selects the Board members from outside the University community, confirms the University’s financial statement and annual report, and decides on discharging the Board members and the Rector from liability.

The University Collegium’s term of office is from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2021.

Further information:
Chair of the University Collegium, Professor Mika Ojakangas,, tel. 040 805 4177
Secretary of the University Collegium, Legal Counsel Eveliina Martikainen, tel. 040 805 4662,

Filed under: