Rector and Vice Rectors

Rector and Vice Rectors - University of Jyväskylä


Keijo Hämäläinen appointed as the Rector of the University of Jyväskylä

Keijo Hämäläinen.jpg          

Keijo Hämäläinen

Rector's Decisions (in JYU-intranet)


p. +358 40 6800 215

Executive Assistant to the Rector:
Anna Rantanen
p. +358 400 247 435

Vice Rectors

Marja-Leena Laakso and Henrik Kunttu appointed as the vice rectors of the University of Jyväskylä

Marja-Leena Laakso.jpg

Professor Marja-Leena Laakso is the vice rector responsible for education.

From 2006, she has worked for the University of Jyväskylä as a professor of Early Childhood Education, especially a professor of child and developmental psychology, and as the dean of the Faculty of Education (Faculty of Education and Psychology from January 2017).Before that she worked, for example, as a researcher for the Finnish Centre of Excellence ‘Human Development and Its Risk Factors’ at the Department of Psychology.Laakso has studied early interaction and children’s language development and has developed methods to support parenthood and children’s social and emotional skills.

tel. +358 40 805 4024  

Excecutive Assistant to the Rector Anna Rantanen
tel. +358 400 247 435

Henrik Kunttu.jpg

Professor Henrik Kunttu is the vice rector responsible for research and innovation activities.

He has worked for the University of Jyväskylä as an associate professor and professor of Physical Chemistry at the Department of Physical Chemistry from 1996 and as the dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Science in 2010–2017. Kunttu is a renowned expert of low temperature chemistry and physics and has studied, for example, the optical characteristics of nanostructures.

tel. +358 50 599 6134

Coordinator Marjo Havila
tel. +358 50 428 5280

 Former Rectors of the University of Jyväskylä (1934-2017):

  • Matti Manninen 2012-2017
  • Aino Sallinen 1992-2012
  • Antti Tanskanen 1988-1992
  • Martti Takala 1982-1988
  • Kalevi Heinilä 1977-1982
  • Ilppo Simo Louhivaara 1967-1977
  • Martti Takala 1963-1967
  • Aarni Penttilä 1948-1962
  • Erik Ahlman 1940-1948
  • Kaarle Oksala 1934-1940