Science Council

1 January 2018 – 31 December 2021

The Science Council is in charge of monitoring and supervising the implementation of the University's Strategy according to the action plan approved by the University Board. Additionally the Science Council participates in preparation of the University and Faculty strategies and the development of research environment and career path of researchers. The Council evaluates yearly the state of the research at the University.

The Rector has appointed the vice deans responsible of research and innovation within their faculties with expert members to the Science Council:

  • Vice rector Henrik Kunttu (chair),
  • Vice dean Jari Ojala (Humanities and Social Sciences),
  • Vice dean Vilma Luoma-aho (Jyväskylä University School of Business and Economics),
  • Vice dean Mikko Siponen (Information technology),
  • Vice dean Sarianna Sipilä (Sport and Health Sciences),
  • Vice dean Ari Jokinen (Mathematics and Science),
  • Vice dean Paavo Leppänen (Education and and Psychology),
  • Director Tanja Risikko, (Kokkola University Consortium Chydenius), 
  • Professor Päivi Häkkinen (Finnish institute for Educational Research),
  • Strategy Director Kari Pitkänen (permanent expert),
  • Graduate School Coordinator Tuula Oksanen (permanent expert) and
  • Head of Research development Timo Taskinen (secretary).

The Science council will meet monthly and the next meeting is on Monday 23th April 2018. 

Please contact Head of Research development Timo Taskinen for further information, or tel. 0400648504.