University Board 1 January 2018 - 31 December 2021

The University Board is a seven-member administrative body of the University of Jyväskylä. The Board chooses the rector and defines the University’s key operational and financial targets, strategy and management principles. It is also responsible for the University’s property management.

University Board

Chancellor Emerita Krista Varantola  (chair) (1 January 2018 - 31 December 2019)

Chief Economist Aki Kangasharju (1 January 2018 - 31 December 2019)

Senior Specialist Kaisa Oksanen (1 January 2018 - 31 December 2019)

Professor Pekka Koskela 

Professor Terhi-Anna Wilska

Senior Lecturer Olli-Pekka Moisio 

Student Arttu Karila (1 January 2018 - 31 December 2019)


News: Pekka Koskela, Terhi-Anna Wilska and Olli-Pekka Moisio elected to the University Board. The term of office of the members is from January 2018 to 31 December 2021.

The University Collegium elected Aki KangasharjuD.Sc. (Econ.), Kaisa Oksanen, Ph.D., and Chancellor Emerita Krista Varantola, Ph.D., as the external members of the University Board for the term of office 1 January 2018–31 December 2019.