University Collegium

University Collegium members and tasks

The University Collegium

1)   decides on the number of members in the University Board and the duration of the term of office for the University Board and its members

2)   elects the University Board members from outside the University community

3)   confirms the University Board members elected by the groups of the University community

4)   dismisses a board member on the proposal of the University Board

5)   elects the auditors of the University

6)   confirms the financial statement and the annual report of the University and discharges the University Board members and the Rector from liability

7)   decides on the bringing of an action for damages against a University Board member, the Rector and an auditor

8)   decides on the dismissal of a University Board member under the Universities Act, Section 65, Subsection 3.

The University Collegium of JYU includes 30 members who all have personal deputies. Of the members, and respectively of the deputy members, 10 represent the professors, 10 the teaching and research staff as well as other staff, and 10 the students of the University. 

The term of office of the Collegium is from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2021. The term of office of the student members is from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2019. 

The Chair of the University Collegium is professor Mika Ojakangas. The secretary of the Collegium is legal counsel Eveliina Martikainen.