Department of Physics

How to apply for beamtime?

There are 2 calls for proposals a year, with deadlines on March 15 and September 15. Proposals should include an abstract/summary. A justification of the beam time requested, based on cross-sections, detector efficiencies, etc. should be given. If a proposal is the continuation of an existing experimental programme at the JYFL Accelerator Laboratory, a summary of the status of the project should be included. The list of authors should preferably include physicists from the Accelerator Laboratory. Proposals and letters of intent should be sent to the Program Advisory Committee scientific secretary Mikael Sandzelius (see address below) and include a Proposal Summary Sheet (download: , PDF, Word (.doc) Format). The preferred method of submission is a postscript or pdf file via e-mail. Other formats and methods are accepted as well. Authors of proposals are encouraged to contact anyone at the Accelerator Laboratory for detailed information about the available instrumentation.

Send your proposals to :

Mikael Sandzelius,
Department of Physics
P.O. Box 35
40014 University of Jyväskylä

tel: +358 40 805 4106
fax: +358 14 617 411 


The Program Advisory Committee

The members of the Jyväskylä Accelerator Laboratory Program Advisory Committee are:

  • Bertram Blank (CEN Bordeaux-Gradignan) (Chair)
  • Bo Cederwall (KTH Stockholm)
  • Fadi Ibrahim (IPN Orsay)
  • Jon Billowes (University of Manchester)
  • Michael Bender (Université de Bordeaux)
  • Silvia Lenzi (University of Padova)
  • Paul Greenlees (JYFL)
  • Ari Jokinen (JYFL)
  • Mikael Sandzelius, Scientific Secretary (JYFL)