Sustainable Development Working Group

The lifetime of the working group: 1 February 2015 - 31 December 2016. The group must submit its first intermediate report to the Rector by 31 May 2015.

According to the strategy of the University of Jyväskylä, global responsibility and sustainable development are emphasised in all activities of the University. In addition, by signing the United Nations Higher Education Sustainability Initiative (HESI) for Rio+20, the University is committed to promoting sustainability-related research and education, developing an environmentally friendly campus and sustainable operating environment, participating in international sustainability networks and sharing its expertise, for example.

The University has a global responsibility programme approved by the Rector, environmental principles and an environmental programme. To intensify their impact, the Rector has decided on 18 February 2015 to establish the Sustainable Development Working Group. The group has the following tasks:

  • To promote and monitor the implementation of the University’s environmental programme and global responsibility programme.
  • To renew the abovementioned programmes so that they form an entity in compliance with the University’s strategic guidelines, targets and international commitments. Furthermore, the new entity must take into account and include other sectors of sustainable development.
  • To report about sustainable development activity at the University as part of the Board Review.
  • To develop the visibility of sustainable development at the University through concrete measures.
  • To unite related operators at the University and support the creation of cooperation.


The working group comprises an environmental team and a global responsibility team.

  • Tiina Onkila, Senior Researcher (Jyväskylä University School of Business and Economics) (chair)

Members of the environmental team:

  • Sari Hämäläinen, University Teacher (Jyväskylä University School of Business and Economics)
  • Markku Kuitunen, Professor (Department of Biological and Environmental Science, Faculty of Mathematics and Science)
  • Tapio Litmanen, Professor, Academy Researcher (Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy, Faculty of Social Sciences)
  • Veli-Heikki Vänttinen, Environmental Coordinator (Facility Services)

Members of the global responsibility team:

  • Anna Grönlund, Head of Internationalisation (Division of Strategic Planning and Development, University Services)
  • Tiina Kontinen, Senior Lecturer (Faculty of Social Sciences)
  • Elina Lehtomäki, Senior Researcher (Faculty of Sport and Health Sciences)
  • Johanna Turunen, Network Coordinator (UniPID)

The working group’s permanent experts:

  • Quality Manager Pirjo Halonen (Division of Strategic Planning and Development),
  • Coordinator Hannu Puupponen (Student and Academic Services) and
  • Communications Officer Marja Keränen (University Communications).

The working group elects a secretary from its members.

This decision overrules the earlier decision on the appointment of the Environmental Working Group.


Sustainable development at JYU: HESI for RIO+20 survey

Share |
Asettamiskirjeen mallipohja

Oletko valmistelemassa työryhmän perustamista? Käytä asettamiskirjeen mallipohjaa (dotx).