Working group for a non-smoking campus

The term of the working group: 4 Feb - 31 Oct 2011.

In the ceremonial opening of the academic year 2010-2011 on 1 September 2010 Rector Aino Sallinen declared that the University of Jyväskylä campuses will become non-smoking during the current academic year. The Director of Administration has now appointed a working group for the development of a non-smoking campus.

The tasks of the working group are

  • to lay and carry out a plan to turn the University into a non-smoking environment
  • to organize information and discussion sessions for superiors and staff for the promotion of a non-smoking campus
  • to prepare support functions for quitting smoking in cooperation with the occupational and student health care services
  • to promote non-smoking campus both on and off campus
  • to follow up the materialization of a non-smoking campus
  • to define a policy whether working time can be used for cigarette breaks
  • to define a policy regarding smoking facilities or locations on campus

The working group must give an interim report to the Director of Administration by 30 April 2011, and finish its plan by 31 May 2011 and give its final report to the Director of Administration by 31 October 2011.


  • Lasse Kannas, Dean (chair)
  • Fatim Diarra, Member of the Board of Excecutives, the Student Union
  • Minna Heikkilä, Occupational Heathcare Nurse, Terveystalo
  • Erja Käyhkö, Public Health Nurse, Finnish Student Health Service
  • Jani Virtanen
  • Marja-Liisa Kinnunen, Researcher
  • Erja Kosonen, Lecturer
  • Pekka Olsbo, Publishing Coordinator
  • Anna Grönlund-Qvarnberg, PR & Communication Officer
  • Marja Leena Immonen, Personnel Manager
  • Suvi Jokio, Real Estate Engineer
  • Olli-Pekka Laakso, Security Manager



Give feedback to the working group or submit ideas for development!


Share |