Department of Music

The new pages for Faculty of Humanities are available at from 3.1.2017

Department of Music

The three major subjects offered at the Department of Music are Musicology, Music Education and Music Therapy. In addition, there is the Music Psychology Training consisting of two international master’s degree programmes: Music, Mind and Technology, and Music Therapy, which both are taught in English. The Department has 350 undergraduate students and about 40 doctoral students, besides 35 members of staff.

In terms of research activity, the Department of Music is an internationally recognised leader in multidisciplinary music research. Since January 2008, it has been hosting the Centre of Excellence in Interdisciplinary Music Research, nominated by the Academy of Finland. The research infrastructure of the Department is among the best in its field in Europe.

Contact Information


Postal address:
University of Jyväskylä

Department of Music
P.O. Box 35
FI-40014 University of Jyväskylä

Street address:
Seminaarinkatu 15
(Building M)

Tel. +358 40 805 4306
Fax. +358 14 617 420