Eurocampus is an intensive international study period of one semester. It is jointly organized with a network of eleven European Universities (EMICC* network). The curriculum includes courses on various topics relating to intercultural communication and other intercultural issues, such as management, training, and linguistic perspectives.

The Eurocampus students from the partner universities study together under the instruction of visiting teachers from the partner institutions. After the Eurocampus period, the students return to their home universities and continue their studies there. Students wishing to participate in the Eurocampus must be degree students at one of the partner universities.

The first Eurocampus was organised in autumn 2002 and was held in Jyväskylä, Finland. After that, the Eurocampus has moved to Bayreuth, Germany (2003); Brussels, Belgium (2004); Cambridge, UK (2005); Lisbon, Portugal (2006); Lugano, Switzerland (2007); Tartu, Estonia (2008); Lugano, Switzerland (2009); Utrecht, Netherlands (2010); Castelló, Spain (2011); Coimbra, Portugal (2012); Jyväskylä, Finland (2013); Paris, France (2014); Cambridge, UK (2015).

In autumn 2016, Eurocampus is held at the University of Tallinn, Estonia.

All the degree students of the Department  have a possibility to apply for Eurocampus. The Department informs about Eurocampus annually via the student email lists.

For more information on Eurocampus, please contact:

Marko Siitonen
Senior Lecturer in Intercultural Communication
E-mail: marko.siitonen (at) jyu.fi
Tel. +358 40 576 7861

* EMICC = European Master in Intercultural Communication. A network of eleven European universities specializing in intercultural communication. The participating universities are: Anglia Ruskin University (Cambridge, UK), Università degli Studi di Urbino Carlo Bo (Urbino, Italy), Utrecht University (Netherlands), Universidade Aberta (Lisbon & Coimbra, Portugal), University of Jyväskylä (Finland), Universität Bayreuth (Germany), Università della Svizzera italiana (Lugano, Switzerland), Louvain School of Management (Leuven, Belgium), Tallinn University (Estonia), and INALCO (Paris, France).