Responsibilities and decision making

Areas of responsibility

Title Area of Responsibility
professors research and teaching
lecturers teaching and research
researchers research
the departmental coordinator
administrative duties and study counselling
visiting scholars teaching for one or two terms


  • A Head of the Department and Deputy Heads who are responsible for running the department for a three-year period.
  • Departmental meetings at least twice a year: current matters, e.g. syllabus changes or any other plans and changes, are discussed in these open meetings.
  • Planning groups and committees with appointed student representatives.
  • The faculty council (tiedekuntaneuvosto) and the university senate (hallitus) are elected bodies where students are also represented. Both these bodies make decisions concerning the department. Such matters include finances, staff appointments, and various decisions and regulations relating to studies, e.g. syllabus requirements and degrees.