Degree students of the University of Jyväskylä may spend a study period (from 3 to 12 months) in another European country in the framework of agreed ERASMUS arrangements between universities.  The ERASMUS programme is open to all higher education students (up to and including doctorate), who are permanent citizens of one the following countries: EU member states, the EEA countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) and Romania, Bulgaria or Turkey.

Only prerequisite is that one must have completed at least the first year of university studies before going to exchange. Also full academic recognition for the study period carried out abroad must be ensured before departure, generally by the means of an ECTS Learning Agreement.



It is a condition of the SOCRATES/ERASMUS programme that no fees (for tuition, registration, examinations, access to laboratory and library facilities etc.) have to be paid to the host institution. However, small fees may be charged for costs, such as insurance, student unions, the use of photocopiers, laboratory products etc., on an equal basis with local students.

ERASMUS students receive a grant to help offset the 'mobility costs' of studying in another country, such as travel, language preparation and differences in the cost of living. ERASMUS grant for 2009-2010

  • 3-4 months, 1000 €
  • 5-7 months, 1400 €
  • 8-10 months, 2000 €
  • 11-12 months, 2400 €

To ensure that students with severe disabilities can take full advantage of the European mobility arrangements, the ERASMUS programme pays particular attention to guidance, reception, physical accessibility, pedagogical and technical support services, and, especially, financing of the extra costs. This means that your ERASMUS grant is higher than the normal study grant to offset the specific difficulties with which you are faced (such as physical access and the organisation and content of teaching).



ERASMUS mobility is based on bilateral exchange agreements between departments/faculties. An exchange agreement concerns always one particular field of study. It is advisable to choose the study abroad destination among the exchange partner universities of one's own department/faculty. Partner universities are listed by university at:

https://www.jyu.fi/hallinto/intl/opiskelijalle/opiskelu_ulkomailla/yhteistyoyliopistot/erasmus-kohteet/2009-2010 (in Finnish)

Further information: International Affairs contact person of your department/faculty:





You must have acquired sufficient knowledge of the language in which the courses you will attend will be taught. This can be through school qualification in a foreign language, foreign language courses at university or simply by having spent some time living abroad. No special language test or certificate is needed.

Courses in English are arranged in some universities in the Netherlands and Scandinavia (in some fields also in Poland, Czech Republic, Hungary, Lithuania and Latvia).

The European Commission also supports Erasmus Language Preparation Courses (EILCs) to enable Erasmus students to function socially and academically in a host country whose language is not widely spoken or taught abroad. International Office will send more information on these language courses to the students selected to Erasmus exchange.



ERASMUS student exchange application deadline for the academic year 2010-2011 is 1 March 2010.  Application forms (available at departments and at https://www.jyu.fi/hallinto/intl/opiskelijalle/lomakkeet should be returned to the International Affairs contact person of your department/faculty.


Further information

- International Affairs contact person at your department/faculty

- International Office http://www.jyu.fi/intl/

- web page of the EU Comission: http://ec.europa.eu/

Back to top