Working groups at the department of Music, Art and Culture Studies

Steering group

The aim of the steering group is to plan and prepare issues for official decision-making and to provide support for the Head of the Department. The steering group is chaired by the Head of the Department.

The members of the steering group

  • Heikki Hanka (chair, Head of the Department)
  • Henna-Riikka Peltola (Vice Head responsible for Education)
  • Suvi Saarikallio (Vice Head responsible for Research and Innovations)
  • Pauline von Bonsdorff (Professor, art education)
  • Mikko Keskinen (Professor, literature)
  • Jukka Louhivuori (Professor, music education)
  • Kai Tuuri (Senior Researcher, musicology)


Education development group

The Education development group is chaired by the Vice Head responsible for Education.

The members of the group

Representatives of staff

  • Henna-Riikka Peltola (chair, Vice Head responsible for Education)
  • Kaisa Ahvenjärvi (university teacher, literature)
  • Erja Kosonen (lecturer, music education)
  • Helena Lonkila (university teacher, museology, art history)
  • Tarja Pääjoki (research coordinator, art education)
  • Riitta Rautio (lecturer, musicology)
  • Marc Thompson (senior lecturer,

Student members

  • Roosa Berg (student organization Corpus)
  • Aino Rytkönen (student organization Trioli)
  • Sarri Honkanen (student organization Pedaali)


Research board

The Research board processes and evaluates, for example, the applications for doctoral training. The Research board is also the follow-up group of the doctoral training of the Department of Music, Art and Culture Studies.

The members of the board

  • Suvi Saarikallio (chair, Vice Head resposible for research and innovations) 
  • Pauline von Bonsdorff (professor, art education)
  • Jaakko Erkkilä (professor, music therapy)
  • Mikko Keskinen (professor, literature)
  • Jukka Louhivuori (professor, music education)
  • Geoffrey Luck (senior researcher, musicology)
  • Tuuli Lähdesmäki (academy research fellow, art history)


Person responsible for coordinating quality management work in department

  • Pekka Toivanen (lecturer, music education)


Other work groups affiliated with the activity of the department

The steering group and board of the Finnish Music Campus

The Finnish Music Campus is the co-operative body of the music education of the University of Jyväskylä, JAMK University of Applied Sciences and the Jyväskylä Educational Consortium, headed by the steering group of the Finnish Music Campus complied of the representatives of the participating schools.