The 21st Annual Symposium for Music Scholars in Finland

leikattu teema.png

The theme for the 21st symposium for music scholars is the future of music research. We want to restore confidence in the relevance of musicology in these economically difficult times, as well as promote discussions about the future directions within the multidisciplinary field of music research. Within these discussions, we even want to emphasise possible ways of changing our future through music and research.

Keynote speakers:

Professor Nicola Dibben (University of Sheffield)
Professor Martin Clayton (Durham University)
Professor Sabine Feisst (Arizona State University)

The online version of the abstract book can be found from here.

Abstracts should be submitted by the deadline of February 17th, 2017. The deadline for the abstract submission has been extended! The new deadline is February 24th, 2017. CFP

The symposium venue is located in Musica (M building) in the Seminaarinmäki campus area (street address: Seminaarinkatu 15 M, Jyväskylä, Finland).


The symposium is organised by the Department of Music, Art, and Culture Studies at the University of Jyväskylä in collaboration with The Finnish Musicological Society, The Finnish Ethnomusicological Society, and Academy of Finland project Music, Nature, and Environmental Crises: A Northern Perspective on Ecocritical Trends in Contemporary Music. The symposium is sponsored by Finnish Cultural Foundation, The Federation of Finnish Learned Societies.


Local co-ordination committee (JYU):

  • Senior Researcher Kai Tuuri (chair)
  • University Teacher Henna-Riikka Peltola (coordinator)
  • Senior lecturer Riitta Rautio
  • Senior lecturer Pekka Toivanen
  • Senior Researcher Esa Ala-Ruona
  • Coordinator Markku Pöyhönen
  • Coordinator Taru-Maija Heilala-Rasimov
 National co-ordination committee:
  • Markus Mantere, senior researcher  (University of the Arts Helsinki, SibA, the chair of The Finnish Musicological Society)
  • Juha Torvinen, Academy Research Fellow (University of the Arts Helsinki, SibA)
  • Johannes Brusila, professor (Åbo Akademi)
  • Susanna Välimäki, university lecturer, (University of Turku)
  • Juha Ojala, professor (University of Oulu)
  • Meri Kytö, university researcher (University of Tampere)
  • Ari Poutiainen, university lecturer (University of Helsinki)
  • Kaarina Kilpiö, university lecturer, coordinator of The Finnish Doctoral Network for Music Research (University of the Arts Helsinki, SibA)