Doctoral studies

The Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy offers postgraduate doctoral studies in the following disciplines:

  • Cultural Policy
  • Development and International Cooperation
  • Gender studies
  • Philosophy
  • Political science
  • Social and public policy
  • Social work
  • Sociology

Research in the Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy is focused on the following three main research areas:

  1. Traditions of Philosophical and Political Thought
  2. Policies and Politics of Welfare and Care
  3. Sustainable societies
Requirements for applying

see Guide for prospective doctoral students

More information

For more information, please contact the Deputy Head of Department Tiina Silvasti