Centre of Excellence in Research on Ageing and Care (CoE AgeCare)

CoE AgeCare has opened a full web site here. The text below is a temporary web page that is now out of use.

CoE AgeCare is is funded by the Academy of Finland 2018–2025. The CoE studies the transformation of ageing and care of older people using new conceptual and interdisciplinary perspectives, conjoining the analysis of diversification of everyday life to that of ongoing profound societal and policy change. In particular, the CoE analyses the implications of current processes of transnationalisation and digitalisation for ageing and care. CoE AgeCare combines scholarship from social policy, sociology and gerontology, analysing older people’s care needs, agency and equality as well as the changing character of care work in the context of the ongoing societal trends of the ageing society. CoE AgeCare is conducted as a concerted effort of four different Research Groups (RGs) coming from the Universities of Jyväskylä, Tampere and Helsinki and in close collaboration with a broad network of leading international scholars. The CoE also functions as an international platform for researcher training of early career researchers.

CoE AgeCare and its RG1 ('Ageing and comparative care policy') are led by Prof. Teppo Kröger from CARPO, the Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy, University of Jyväskylä. RG2 ('Agency in health, well-being and care in old age') is led by Prof. Marja Jylhä and Dr. Outi Jolanki from the Gerontology Research Center (GEREC), University of Tampere. RG3 ('Migration, care and ageing') is led by Dr. Sirpa Wrede from the Department of Social Research, University of Helsinki. She is also the vice leader of the CoE. The leader of RG4 ('New technologies, ageing and care') is Dr. Sakari Taipale from the Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy, University of Jyväskylä. In all, the four teams include more than 20 researchers. The CoE collaborates closely with a large network of research projects and institutes from Finland, other parts of Europe, North America, Asia and Australia.

CoE AgeCare also includes an International Scientific Advisory Board and a Stakeholder Advisory Board. Members of the International Scientific Advisory Board are: Prof. Loretta Baldassar, University of Western Australia; Director Giovanni Lamura, National Institute of Health and Science on Ageing (INRCA), Italy; Prof. Claude Martin, L’Ecole des Hautes Études en Santé Publique (EHESP), Université Rennes 1, France; Prof. Anne Martin-Matthews, University of British Columbia, Canada; Prof. Emiko Ochiai, Kyoto University, Japan; Prof. Marta Szebehely, Stockholm University, Sweden; Prof. Britt Östlund, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden. The Stakeholder Advisory Board includes representatives of a number of public and private Finnish organisations that are key players in the area of ageing and care.

The funding decision of the Academy of Finland is here.