People

RECLAS consists of researchers working in the area of applied language studies in the Department of Language and Communication Studies, Centre for Applied Language Studies, and other departments at the University of Jyväskylä. The role of the Scientific Expert Group is to participate in strategic planning and in identifying areas of strength and new areas for research and support RECLAS research community in the role of expert “critical friends”. The Board will meet once a year.

Steering Group

Nikula-Jäntti Tarja, Professor, Director of RECLAS
tarja.nikula@jyu.fi
content and language integrated learning (CLIL), multilingual classroom practices, classroom discourse analysis
Pitkänen-Huhta Anne, University lecturer, Vice-director of RECLAS
anne.pitkanen-huhta@jyu.fi
language learning and teaching, literacy studies, ethnography and visual methods
Haapakangas Eeva-Leena, Project researcher (On leave of absence until Feb 19th, 2020)
eeva-leena.e-l.haapakangas@jyu.fi
RECLAS secretary, communications
Lähteenmäki Mika, Professor
mika.k.lahteenmaki@jyu.fi
multilingualism among the Russian-speaking population in Finland, dialogism, history of Russian/Soviet linguistics, language policy, language ideologies
Pietikäinen Sari, Professor
sari.p.pietikainen@jyu.fi
critical discourse studies, critical sociolinguistics, ethnography, Arctic, multilingualism, indigenous Sámi languages, language and economy, language and power
Saarinen Taina, Senior researcher
taina.m.saarinen@jyu.fi
language (education) policy, higher education policy, discourse analysis
Suur-Askola Laura-Maija, Project secretary (Replacement for Eeva-Leena Haapakangas until Feb 19th, 2020)
laura-maija.m.a.suur-askola@jyu.fi
RECLAS secretary, communications

Strategy Group

Nikula-Jäntti Tarja, Professor, Director of RECLAS
tarja.nikula@jyu.fi
content and language integrated learning (CLIL), multilingual classroom practices, classroom discourse analysis
Pitkänen-Huhta Anne, University lecturer, Vice-director of RECLAS
anne.pitkanen-huhta@jyu.fi
language learning and teaching, literacy studies, ethnography and visual methods
Boivin Nettie, Associate professor
nettie.l.boivin@jyu.fi
transmigrant identity & transcultural practices, 21st century learning, multiliteracies
D´Hondt Sigurd, Associate professor
sigurd.a.dhondt@jyu.fi
linguistic anthropology, interaction analysis, judiciary settings
Ennser-Kananen Johanna, Post-doctoral researcher
johanna.f.ennser-kananen@jyu.fi
language (teacher) education, multilingual and multicultural youth, anti-oppressive education
Huhta Ari, Professor
ari.huhta@jyu.fi
language assessment, language learning, literacy
Leppänen Sirpa, Professor
sirpa.h.leppanen@jyu.fi
social media, sociolinguistics, discourse studies
Luukka Minna-Riitta, Professor, Dean
minna-riitta.luukka@jyu.fi
(multi)literacies, mother tongue teaching, discourses
Lähteenmäki Mika, Professor
mika.k.lahteenmaki@jyu.fi
multilingualism among the Russian-speaking population in Finland, dialogism, history of Russian/Soviet linguistics, language policy, language ideologies
Räisänen Tiina, Postdoctoral researcher
tiina.t.raisanen@jyu.fi
sociolinguistics, discourse studies / discourse analysis, ethnography, English as a business lingua franca (BELF), workplace interaction, intercultural workplace communication
Saarinen Taina, Senior researcher
taina.m.saarinen@jyu.fi
language (education) policy, higher education policy, discourse analysis
Salonen Juhana, Project researcher
juhana.salonen@jyu.fi
Finnish Sign Language, corpus project, sign language education and linguistics, identity, deaf identity lecturer, deaf culture, bilingualism, language policy, sign language activist
Suni Minna, Professor
minna.suni@jyu.fi
Finnish language, second language, applied linguistics, language learning, multilingualism, language proficiency, LSP, language education, language policy, migration, working life

Scientific Expert Group

Grin François, Professor
Martín Rojo Luisa, Professor
Pennycook Alastair, Professor
Wei Li, Professor
Wright Sue, Professor
Canagarajah Suresh, Professor
RECLAS SEG Member 2016-2017