FIDIPRO Winter Symposium

On December 11-15, 2017 we organized the FiDiPro Winter Symposium on Nuclear Structure Physics at the University of Jyväskylä .

The Symposium's focus was on physics subjects addressed during the 11-year FiDiPro project and 12-year Centre of Excellence at JYFL, which both have seen their two consecutive grants from Academy of Finland end in 2017. Discussions during the Symposium aimed to spearhead future theoretical and experimental research at JYFL.

The Symposium was held in a beautiful Cumulus Resort Laajavuori in Jyväskylä, just a few miles from the Department of Physics. Fitness, spa, cross-county and downhill skiing was available. It started in the morning of Tuesday 12 December 2017 and finished with the lunch on Friday 15 December.

Local Organizing Committee:

Jacek Dobaczewski
Paul Greenlees
Ari Jokinen
Rauno Julin
Iain Moore
Jouni Suhonen
Juha Äystö 

The Schedule of the Symposium


The list of participants and links to online talks:

No. First name Last name Institution Title of the talk
1 Juha Äystö University of Jyväskylä FIDIPRO project - linking nuclear theory and experiments
2 Pawel Baczyk University of Warsaw Strong-force isospin-symmetry breaking in masses of N~Z nuclei
3 Michael Bender Universite de Lyon Skyrme pseudo-potential-based EDF parametrisation for spuriousity-free MR-EDF calculations
4 Karim Bennaceur Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1 Nonlocal energy density functionals for pairing and beyond-mean-field calculations
5 Mike Bentley University of York Isospin symmetry in rotational bands
6 Michael Block GSI Mass measurements in heavy-element region
7 Gillis Carlsson Lund University Alpha-particle formation and decay rates from Skyrme-HFB wave functions
8 Toño  Coello Perez University of Darmstadt Effective theories for collective nuclei
9 Dave Cullen University of Manchester  
10 Dany Davesne Universite de Lyon Infinite matter properties and zero-range limit of nonrelativistic finite-range interactions
11 Jacek Dobaczewski University of Jyväskylä  
12 Thomas Duguet CEA-Saclay Ab initio description of the (potential) 34Si bubble nucleus
13 Yuan Gao State Key Laboratory of Nuclear Physics and Technology Approximate restoration of translational and rotational symmetries within the Lipkin method
14 Tuomas Grahn University of Jyväskylä Super-FRS experiments in nuclear structure
15 Paul Greenlees University of Jyväskylä Vision 2030: Future perspectives for JYFL-ACCLAB
16 Tiia Haverinen University of Jyväskylä Uncertainty propagation within the UNEDF models
17 Ari Jokinen University of Jyväskylä Impact and role of high-precision mass measurements on nuclear structure
18 Rauno Julin University of Jyväskylä  
19 Anu Kankainen University of Jyväskylä Mass measurements as a test of isospin symmetry
20 Maciej Konieczka University of Warsaw Beta-decay calculations within DFT-rooted No-Core Configuration-Interaction model
21 Markus Kortelainen University of Jyväskylä Thoules-Valatin rotational moment of inertia from the linear response theory
22 Reiner Kruecken TRIUMF Probing shape coexistence at N=60 with direct reactions at TRIUMF
23 Denis Lacroix IPN Orsay Exploring symmetry breaking and restoration for low-cost ab-initio calculations
24 Araceli Lopez-Martens Centre de Sciences Nucléaires et de Sciences de la Matiere Heavy element spectroscopy
25 Nicolas Michel Michigan State University Quantified Gamow shell interaction for psd-shell nuclei
26 Iain Moore University of Jyväskylä  
27 Witek Nazarewicz Michigan State University Nuclear localizations in nuclear DFT and TDDFT
28 Gerda Neyens ISOLDE-CERN/KU-Leuven Structure studies in the n-rich Ni region from moments and radii
29 Tomohiro Oishi University of Padova Dependence of Two-proton Radioactivity on Nuclear Pairing Models
30 Janne Pakarinen University of Jyväskylä Shape coexistence experiments at JYFL and HIE-ISOLDE
31 Alessandro Pastore University of York Extended Skyrme pseudo-potential deduced from infinite matter properties
32 Zolt Podolyak University of Surrey Shell structure of heavy neutron-rich nuclei
33 Francesco Raimondi University of Surrey Deuteron-induced nucleon transfer reactions within an ab initio framework
34 Gianluca Salvioni University of Jyväskylä Ab Initio Derivation of Model Energy Density Functionals
35 Wojtek Satuła University of Warsaw No-core configuration-interaction model for the isospin- and angular-momentum-projected states
36 Yue Shi Harbin Institute of Technology Shell evolution above Z,N = 50 within Skyrme density functional theory
37 Jouni Suhonen University of Jyväskylä  
38 Jussi Toivanen University of Jyväskylä  
39 Petr Veselý Charles University Applications of the Equation of Motion Phonon Method to Nuclear and Exotic Nuclear Systems
40 Xiaobao Wang   The Lipkin method for particle number projection