Minutes of the Meetings of the International Board during the XXXV International Physics Olympiad in Pohang (Korea) July 15 - 23, 2004

1. The following 71 countries were present at the 35th International Olympiad:

    Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, The Czechlands, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France(*), Georgia, Germany, Great Britain,, Greece(*), Hong Kong(**), Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, The Netherlands,Nigeria(**), Norway, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia & Montenegro, Singapore, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, USA and Vietnam.

    (*) - rejoined the competition after atleast three years gap in participation

    (**) - new countries invited by the Organizing Committee to the Olympiads this year.

    In addition, two countries were represented by observers: Japan and Sri Lanka

    As Kenya has not participated in three last Olympiads, the next organisers are not obliged to invite it to the competition (According to §2 of the Statutes such countries should be treated as "new" countries in the future).

2. Results of marking the papers by the organisers were presented.
The best score (47,70 points) was achieved by Alexander Mikhalychev from Belarus (Absolute winner of the 35th IPhO). The following limits for awarding the medals and the honourable mention were established according to the Statutes:
    Gold Medal  39 points
    Silver Medal   
    34 points
    Bronze Medal   
    25 points
    Honourable Mention  
    18 points

    According to the limits 31 Gold Medals, 35 Silver Medals, 68 Bronze Medals and 82 Honourable Mentions were awarded. The list of the scores of the winners and the students awarded with honourable mentions were distributed to all the delegations.

3. In addition to the regular prizes the following special prizes were awarded:
  • for the best score (Absolute winner)
    • Alexander Mikhalychev     (Belarus)
  • for the best score in the experimental part of the competition:
    • Peter Komar     (Hungary)
  • for the best score in the theoretical part of the competition:
    • Yali Miao;   (China)
  • for the best score among female participants:
    • Elena Udovina  (USA)
  • for the most original solutions at both competition days (Grant of Mueunjae Memorial Foundation):
    • Elena Udovina     (USA)
  • for the best participant among the countries that joined or rejoiner the IPhO in 2004 (by Dr. W. Gorzkowski - President of the IPhOs):
    • Sung-fung Sum     (Hong Kong)

4. During grading the students solutions the local graders consulted some problems concerning interpretation of the criteria etc. with the following three leaders designated to this work by the International Board: Prof. Jan Mostowski (Poland), Dr. Andrzej Kotlicki (Canada) and Prof. Anatoliy Slobodianiuk (Belarus).

5. Prof. Maija Ahtee was re-elected to the post of Secretary of the IPhOs for the next five years by acclamation. Prof. Ahtee expressed deep thanks for so high recognition of her work and promised to work in the same way as until now.

6. The International Board discussed a proposal formulated by Prof. Stanislav Kozel (Russia), aiming to establish optimum duration of the competition (the text of the proposal was disseminated to all more than three months in advance). The following sentence was added to the Regulations to #5 of the Statutes (as the first sentence):

"It is recommended that the competition should last 10 days (including arrival and departure days)."

(Voting: total number of Members of the International Board . 135; required minimum of votes . 68; number of votes in favour . 75)

7. President of the IPhOs informed the International Board that Prof. Lars Silverberg (Sweden), many years. Member of the International Board, has passed away on February 11, 2004 after a long and heavy illness and reminded his exceptional merits for the International Physics Olympiads. The International Board commemorated Prof. Lars Silverberg with the Minute of Silence.

8. President of the IPhOs presented a table with the future organizers of the IPhOs. At present the nearest "free year" is 2022.

9. Prof. Juan Leon (Spain) informed the International Board about present state of preparation of the 36th International Physics Olympiad in Salamanca in 2005. The Singaporean delegates informed the International Board about present state concerning the IPhO.2006.

10. President of the IPhOs, acting on behalf of all the participants, expressed deep thanks to Prof. Zheong G. Khim (Chairman of the Organizing Committee), Prof. Seunghwan Kim (Executive Secretary of the Organizing Committee) and other formal or informal Members of the Organizing Committee for perfect preparation and execution of the 35th International Physics Olympiad. Deep thanks were conveyed also to the top authorities of the country, all the sponsors, graders, guides and other people who contributed to the success of the Olympiad.

11. One should underline that the 35th IPhO was honoured with presence of His Excellency Mister Noh Moo Hyun, President of Republic of Korea, at the Opening Ceremony, who gave the Opening Address.

12. Acting on behalf of the organizers of the next International Physics Olympiad Prof. Dr. Angela Calvo Redondo (Spain) announced that the 36th International Physics Olympiad will be organized in Salamanca, on July 3rd - 12th, 2005 and cordially invited all the participating countries to attend the competition. Printed materials about the Olympiad in Salamanca have been disseminated to all the delegations.
Prof. Zheong G. Khim
Chairman of the
35th IPhO
Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski
President of the IPhOs
Prof. Maija Ahtee
Secretary of the IPhOs

Pohang, 23 July 2004