Minutes of the Meetings of the International Board during the XXXVI International Physics Olympiad in Salamanca (Spain) July 3 - 12, 2005

1. The following 72 countries were present at the 36th International Olympiad:

    Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, The Czechlands, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, The Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Peru (*), Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia & Montenegro, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka (*), Surinam, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, USA and Vietnam.

    (*) - new countries invited by the Organizing Committee to the Olympiads this year.

    In addition, three countries were represented by observers: Ecuador, Japan and Tajikistan

2. The International Board with full understanding accepted the proposal of Liechtenstein and Switzerland on organizing the IPhO'2016 by these countries together. Mr. Charles Kleiber, State Secretary for Education and Research in Switzerland, contained the proposal in the letter to Secretariat of the IPhOs. The delegation leaders of the countries involved: Mr. Fritz Epple (Liechtenstein) and Dr. Alfredo Mastrocola (Switzerland), presented details of the proposal. In discussion it was, however, underlined that organization of the Olympiad by two countries is an exception and that in such cases always an extra agreement of the International Board is required.. 3. Results of marking the papers by the organisers were presented.
The best score (49,5 points) was achieved ex aequo by Gabor Halasz from Hungary and by Ying-Hsuan Lin (Taiwan) They have won the title "Absolute Winner" of the 36th IPhO). The following limits for awarding the medals and the honourable mention were established according to the Statutes:
    Gold Medal  45 points
    Silver Medal   
    41 points
    Bronze Medal   
    33 points
    Honourable Mention  
    21 points

    According to the limits 46 Gold Medals, 26 Silver Medals, 63 Bronze Medals and 92 Honourable Mentions were awarded. The list of the scores of the winners and the students awarded with honourable mentions were distributed to all the delegations.

4. In addition to the regular prizes the following special prizes were awarded:
  • for the best scores (Absolute winners)
    • Gabor Halasz     (Hungary)
    • Ying-Hsuan Lin     (Taiwan)
  • for the best score in the experimental part of the competition:
    • Wei Xiang Jonhatan Ng     (Singapore)
  • for the best scores in the theoretical part of the competition (ex aequo):
    • Ying-Hsuan Lin;   (Taiwan)
    • Gabor Halasz;   (Hungary)
    • Han-Hsuan Lin;   (Taiwan)
    • Hanhan Li;   (China)
    • Azar Eyvazov;   (Azerbaijan)
    • Ivan Erofeev;   (Russia)
  • for the best participants from Spain (Prize of the Salamanca Major):
    • Ricardo Martin Brualla   (Spain)
  • for the best participants from Ibero-American countries (Prize of the University of Salamanca Chancellor):
    • Franco Julio Mangiarotti    (Argentina)
  • for the best participants among the countries that joined or rejoined the IPhO in 2004 (by Dr. W. Gorzkowski - President of the IPhOs):
    • Nuwan Ganganath   (Sri Lanka)
  • "Einstein Centennial Prize" (for the most original solutions in all the competitions - Prize of the Presidents of the Organizing and Academic Committees):
    • Mingjie Dai     (China)

5. During grading the students solutions the local graders consulted some problems concerning interpretation of the criteria etc. with the following three leaders designated to this work by the International Board: Prof. Jan Mostowski (Poland), Dr. Eli Raz (Israel) and Prof. Ming-Juey Lin (Taiwan).

6. For lack of time the International Board was not able to discuss two proposals of changes in the Statutes. One of them (by Dr. Olsen Malte) referred to the way of formulating the experimental problems. The second one (by Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski) referred to the problem of inviting new countries to the competition. The International Board decided to postpone consideration of these proposals to the next Olympiad.

7. President of the IPhOs informed the International Board that Prof. Osral Demokan (Turkey), many years Member of the International Board, was perished in a car accident, and reminded his exceptional merits for the International Physics Olympiads. The International Board commemorated Prof. Ordal Demokan with the Minute of Silence.

8. President of the IPhOs presented a table with the future organizers of the IPhOs. At present the nearest "free year" is 2023.

9. Prof. Sguyan Xu (Singapore) informed the International Board about present state of preparation of the 37th International Physics Olympiad in 2006. The Iranian delegates informed the International Board about present state concerning the IPhO 2007. Printed materials about both Olympiads were disseminated to all the delegations.

10. President of the IPhOs, acting on behalf of all the participants, expressed deep thanks to Prof. Dr. Angela Calvo (Chairwoman of the Organizing Committee), Dr.Juan Leon (Chairman of the Academic Committee), Prof. Dr. Jose L. Segovia (Organizing Committee), Dr. Jaime Julve (Academic Committee) and other formal or informal Members of the Organizing Committee for perfect preparation and execution of the 36th International Physics Olympiad. Deep thanks were conveyed also to the top authorities of Salamanca and of the country, all the sponsors, graders, guides and other people who contributed to the success of the Olympiad.

11. At the end of the Olympiad, acting on behalf of the organizers of the next International Physics Olympiad, Prof. Dr. Shuyan Xu (Singapore) announced that the 37 thInternational Physics Olympiad will be organized in his country on July 8th - 17th, 2006 and cordially invited all the participating countries to attend the competition.
Dr. Juan Leon
Chairman of the
Academic Committee
Prof. Dr. Angelo Calvo
Chairwoman of the
Organizing Committee
Dr. Waldemar Gorzkowski
President of the IPhOs
Prof. Maija Ahtee
Secretary of the IPhOs

Salamanca, 12 July 2005